Landmark Field Hockey All-Conference Awards Announced

Landmark Field Hockey All-Conference Awards Announced

TOWSON, Md. – Scranton senior Gretchen Kempf is the Landmark Conference field hockey coaches' pick as Player of the Year while Drew junior Brooke Gagliano is the Offensive Player of the Year. Catholic's Hayley Wright was chosen as the Rookie of the Year.

Kempf and Gagliano tied for the league high in goals and points this season with 15 goals and seven assists for 37 points apiece. Kempf scored in 13 of the 16 regular season games she played in while notching three game-winning goals for the Royals. Last season she was named the Landmark Offensive Player of the Year and wraps up her career as a three-time All-Conference selection, and two-time First Team honoree.

Gagliano had a breakout year for the Rangers, more than doubling her goals and point production. A first-time All-Conference selection, Gagliano led the Landmark in goals and points through conference games with nine goals and four assists. She finished the regular season with four multi-goal games including a hat trick against Susquehanna.

Wright led the Cardinals in goals this season during her rookie campaign. She scored 11 goals during the regular season and notched three game-winners including the second goal of a 4-3 come from behind win against Juniata. The freshman also earned Second Team All-Conference honors.

Joining Kempf and Gagliano as First Team forwards are Drew senior Sarah Charles and Catholic sophomore Colleen Harwood. Charles led the league through the regular season with 16 goals including two hat tricks against Stevens and Susquehanna. She has earned First Team honors for the first time after she was named to the Second Team in 2010. Harwood is a repeat selection to the First Team after she was named the 2011 Rookie of the Year. She followed up a remarkable freshman year with 10 regular season goals and nine assists for 29 points.

In the midfield, Susquehanna's Ally Bradley has earned First Team honors for the third time in her career. This season she scored seven goals and three assists as the Crusaders finished as the fourth seed in the Landmark after missing the playoffs a year ago. Juniata junior Emma Dahmus came on strong during conference play scoring six of her eight goals against Landmark foes to earn All-Conference honors for the second time. She tallied two at Catholic and three against Drew, the top two teams in the league. Catholic sophomore Kim Hermann repeats as a First Team honoree this season. She finished with five regular season goals including two against Drew, the first of which was the game-winner.

The First Team defense coincidentally includes a player from each of the top four teams in the conference. Susquehanna senior Allison Abey tied for fourth in the conference with four defensive saves during the regular season while adding two goals and two assists. She joins Drew freshman Bea Cannavale and Scranton sophomore Jessica Pankey as first-timers on the Landmark All-Conference teams. Cannavale has been praised for her transition game while racking up 11 regular season assists to tie for the conference-high. Catholic sophomore Maura Campbell is a two-time First Team selection as a crucial member of the Cardinals' attack and defense. She has contributed four goals and six assists while helping the Catholic defensive unit limit opponents to 26 goals during the regular season.

Drew's junior Goalkeeper C.C. Carlini has earned First Team honors for the first time in her career. She finished the regular season with a 1.53 goals against average and .833 save percentage while posting four shutouts. Carlini is currently ranked 11th in NCAA Division III for save percentage.

Catholic Head Coach Gia Cillizza and Susquehanna Head Coach Kaitlyn Wahila will share Landmark Coaching Staff of the Year honors. Cillizza has been recognized for the fourth time in 11 seasons at the helm of the Cardinals. Catholic won its second consecutive Landmark title this season and advance to the NCAA Tournament beginning later today. Wahila was voted as one of the top coaches in the league in just her second season with the Crusaders. The team advanced to the playoffs after losing in a tiebreaker last season. A 1-0 win over Juniata this season helped Susquehanna win the tiebreaker this season and give the Crusaders their first win over the Eagles in four years.

Catholic and Drew each placed five players on both First and Second Team. Scranton had four players recognized while Susquehanna, Juniata and Moravian had three apiece.

of the Year

Offensive Player
of the Year
of the Year
of the Year

of the Year
Gretchen Kempf,
Brooke Gagliano,
Hayley Wright,
Gia Cillizza,

Kaitlyn Wahila,

The 2012 Landmark Field Hockey All-Conference Teams:

First Team         Second Team      
Forward         Forward      
Sarah Charles
Drew Sr. Long Valley, N.J.   Sara Bilheimer
Juniata Fr. Bethlehem, Pa.
Brooke Gagliano
Drew Jr. Freehold, N.J.   Brodie Ercole
Susquehanna So. Lewisburg, Pa.
Colleen Harwood
Catholic So. Rockville, Md.   Hayley Wright
Catholic Fr. St. Louis, Mo.
Gretchen Kempf
Scranton Sr. Warrington, Pa.          
Midfielder         Catherine Duffin
Moravian So. Moorestown, N.J.
Ally Bradley
Susquehanna Sr. Jamison, Pa.   Alyssa Fania
Scranton So. Annandale, N.J.
Emma Dahmus
Juniata Jr. Hummelstown, Pa.   Corinne O'Kane
Scranton Sr. Springfield, Pa.
Kim Hermann
Catholic So. Havertown, Pa.   Caroline Phillips
Juniata Sr. Wilmington, Del.
          Danielle Waleko
Drew Jr. Wainscott, N.Y.
Allison Abey
Susquehanna Sr. Ewing, N.J.   Defender      
Maura Campbell
Catholic So. Media, Pa.   Jill McNeish
Juniata Sr. Greensburg, Pa.
Bea Cannavale
Drew Fr. Branchville, N.J.   Catherine Mirsky
Catholic Sr. Chevy Chase, Md.
Jessica Pankey
Scranton So. Pompton Lakes, N.J.   Stephanie Pezzello
Moravian Sr. Holmdel, N.J.
Goalkeeper         Goalkeeper      
C.C. Carlini
Drew Jr. Amherst, N.H.   Catherine Gottlieb
Moravian Sr. Hilltop, N.J.